jump to navigation

Edward Yang died and I missed him so I went to see A Brighter Summer Day again and I cried without tears (1991) September 4, 2007

Posted by Richard Bolisay in Asian Films.
trackback

Originally published in Digital Buryong on July 5, 2007

Original Title: Guling jie shaonian sha ren shijian
Director: Edward Yang
Cast: Chen Chang, Lisa Yang, Guozhu Zhang

Considering the influx of monumental, ambitious, lengthy, and deeply absorbing Taiwanese films in the 90s, A Brighter Summer Day stands out as Edward Yang’s massive tale of angst and rebellion during a bleak, unending period of political and social unrest. The youth as the film’s central character is the epitome of national turmoil. Whether he may be active or passive in response to the social climate, it doesn’t matter. Everyone is caught in a trap. No one escapes. And life is never forgiving.

It’s pure luck that I saw a copy of this film in Quiapo. And yeah, with subtitles. With a running time of more than four hours (longer than Seven Samurai), typical moviegoers are quick enough to ignore the film because of its length. Well, it’s their loss. A Brighter Summer Day is definitely one of Taiwanese cinema’s priceless contributions to world cinema.

At 59, Edward Yang died last Friday after years of struggle against colon cancer. After reading the news, I recalled that day when I was at Video 48 borrowing Yi Yi: A One and a Two. And since we still don’t have a DVD player that time, I need a VHS copy of the film. Good news. The lady told me, Nahiram na yung VHS copy sir e. Sad. Sad. Sad. Now I’m still looking for it since Video 48 is one-hundred-years-of-solitude away from my workplace.

Now that he’s dead, may he rest in peace and bliss in heaven. * * * * *

Comments»

1. AD - April 30, 2009

wow! I hope i can watch this one. I have seen Yi Yi on DVD…


Leave a Reply

